fbpx
Are Chocolate Chips Gluten Free

Are Chocolate Chips Gluten Free?

Do chocolate chips have gluten?

Are chocolate chips gluten free? In a word, “yes.” Chocolate chips are generally made from a variety of ingredients such as cocoa beans, sugar, and milk – none of which contain any gluten. However, some chocolate chips may be processed in a facility that also processes wheat or other grains. That’s why it’s essential to check each label. To make it easier, we’ve collected information on some of the major chocolate chip brands to give you an idea of which options will fit well into your gluten-free lifestyle.

What Is Gluten

Gluten is a protein found in cereal grains, most commonly wheat, barley, and rye. This compound provides no essential nutrients and is responsible for the elastic texture of dough. It is frequently found in bread, pasta, pizza, and cereal. However, you may have noticed the rise of many brands offering gluten-free options. One of the primary reasons for going on a gluten-free diet is severe gluten intolerance, often referred to as “celiac disease.”

Celiac Disease

This is an autoimmune condition that impacts one in every 133 Americans. It has a variety of symptoms, but these can be counteracted by going on a gluten-free diet. It’s crucial to remember that going gluten-free is not a choice, but a necessity for many people. However, most people don’t want to have to give up their favorite foods, including chocolate chips. Fortunately, in many cases, they don’t have to.

Is Chocolate Gluten Free
Is Chocolate Gluten Free

Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Brands

When it comes to gluten free chocolate chip brands, there are many to choose from. Are Nestle chocolate chips gluten free? Are Nestle semi sweet chocolate chips gluten-free? We have the answer below. Happy baking!

Enjoy Life

Enjoy Life’s chocolate products are all gluten-free and made in a specialized gluten-free facility. Enjoy Life is a brand dedicated to providing healthy alternatives to mainstream brands that are free of allergens.

Lily’s

All of Lily’s chocolate bars, chips, and candy items are certified gluten-free by the GFCO. Lilly’s offers a wide range of different chocolate products that are all made without sugar and are entirely fair trade certified.

Lakanto

Lakanto is yet another brand of chocolate that is also sugar-free and completely gluten-free. Their chocolate chips are also keto-approved and vegan-friendly. Instead of using sugar, Lakanto chocolate is sweetened with a fruit initially found in the remote highlands of China, Monk Fruit.

Nestle

Nestle is one of the more well-known chocolate brands to offer entirely gluten-free chocolate chips. All of their chocolate products, with the exception of the butterscotch chips, are entirely gluten-free.

Ghirardelli

Are Ghirardelli chocolate chips gluten-free? According to the FAQ page on the Ghiradelli website, the majority of their baking chips and baking bars are made without gluten-containing ingredients. Their 60%, 72%, 85%, and 92% Cacao bars and squares are made without gluten-containing ingredients.

Kirkland (Costco)

Are Kirkland chocolate chips gluten-free? Kirkland chocolate chip products from Costco are not labeled as “gluten-free,” but there are no gluten-containing ingredients listed on the product, so it is possible that these chocolate chips are gluten-free.

Conclusion

Going gluten-free doesn’t have to mean giving up your favorite foods. Sometimes, it just means that you’ll have to do a little research to find the best alternatives. Fortunately, there are many resources online that can help you as well as support groups that can encourage you on your gluten-free lifestyle. Hopefully this article has answered the question of are chocolate chips gluten free!

Are White Chocolate Chips Gluten Free?

Gluten Free White Chocolate Image

Yes, most of the time. For this, it is best to still check the ingredients.

Are Great Value Organic White Baking Chips Gluten Free?

Yes.