Wheat Gluten Image

Wheat Gluten – Why Some People Must Avoid It

Wheat gluten is commonly used in a variety of food situations. It’s something that a lot of us don’t even notice, but it’s a big deal for people with gluten allergies. Ingesting this kind of wheat can actually upset the small intestines, resulting in weight loss, bad stools, fatigue, and ill feelings overall. Gluten gives bread its springy texture and is found in wheat, barley, and rye. People who have Celiac disease are not able to consume those products because of the gluten within. Thus they must adjust a great portion of their eating habits to still live a normal life.

Remove Wheat Gluten From Your Diet

The only way to improve a gluten allergy is to remove gluten wheat from your diet. This can be tough at first because there are a ton of different foods and drinks that use gluten in them. Bread, malt alcoholic beverages, pasta, and most baked goods are removed from the menu and replaced with vegetables, meats, and fruits. This isn’t a bad thing per se because it may be a great diet plan. For people who love the taste of those foods though, the results are disappointing.

Substitue Products For Wheat Gluten

Luckily, there have been a surprising number of substitute products that have hit the market without using gluten wheat. For instance, people can now use gluten free flour in a lot of their favorite recipes. It looks and tastes the same as regular flour, but it isn’t made from wheat at all. The only issue you may run into if you opt to use some of this is that it doesn’t always use the same amount of ingredients. You may have to make small adjustments to a recipe to get it to work the way it should. That’s a small price to pay though when you gain the ability to eat anything you want.


If you are out eating and can’t make your own food, you will need to be leery of what you get. Most restaurants are going to have menus packed with gluten wheat. You can always opt for a salad and grilled chicken, but avoid anything with breading. Also check with a manager to see if gluten is used in any of the preservatives in the food. Some chilies, for instance, have gluten in them. Since a lot of fast food places have been making healthier foods recently, you just have to pick through the stuff on the menu you can. There are always options out there.